Equality.

Equality

When I decided to start writing I told myself to never discuss or debate politics.  I still won’t do that but what happened this morning, June 26th 2013, feels like something different.  It’s about equality today, not people coming into our country, taxes, health care reform, or our privacy (or lack thereof).  It’s about love, something I feel we all have an opinion on.

I don’t get to say this often and it may be a generational thing, but I’m proud of our country today.  When we do something like this it actually gives me hope for our future.   This is a moment to pause and reflect on where we are as a nation, where we were, and where we are headed.  What can the future bring?  What doors will this open?  I don’t have those answers but maybe someday I’ll be able talk about what paths were created today.  It may not be perfect, but it has to start somewhere.

I hope you can take a moment today, even a minute, and think about what this means for all of us.  Remove preconceived opinions and beliefs while you think about it and be honest with yourself.  No more excuses, we are all equal.

“We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.”

 

Do something good.

Matthew

2 thoughts on “Equality.

  1. Pingback: Suspended for Opinions | I Smell Carrots

  2. Pingback: HitRecord Weekly Writing Challenge: Week 37 | I Smell Carrots

Leave a Reply

