What did you love in 2013?

Catching Fire

What did you love in 2013?  I want to know.

I enjoy making lists.  Anything from grocery lists, a list of restaurants to eat at in Disney World, or in this case, a list of things I really liked in 2013.

First, I want to encourage anyone reading this to chime in with your own favorites of the past year.  Share whatever you loved doing, whether you found a new book you couldn’t put down, or a movie that left you haunted.  Maybe you went on a beautiful dream vacation where tiny elves served you cocktails with those tiny umbrellas.  Absolutely no cheating, like saying you got married or had a child, you should love those, otherwise why do either?

Shall we begin?

Books:  I didn’t read as much as I should have this year.  I’m disappointed in myself (I’m starting a list of resolutions; reading sits at three currently).  However I did get a chance to read Joyland, by Stephen King.  Excellent summer book that was fun and easy to read.  It had some young adult themes, a very entertaining setting, and a main character you could root for.  It also gave me a small lesson in carnival talk.

Movies:  There were a lot of quality movies in 2013 and there are still another few weeks left.  To point out first, The Hobbit, American Hustle, The Wolf of Wall Street, and Anchorman 2 are not out yet.  I have also not seen Frozen, Thor 2, Gravity, or All is Lost.

I have a plethora of honorable mentions; you should make it a point to see these.  In order of favorite, minus number one.  The World’s End, The Great Gatsby, The Wolverine (Lots of THE’s in 2013), Carrie, Monsters U, Evil Dead, Insidious 2, Man of Steel, Iron Man 3, World War Z, Star Trek: Into Darkness, Oblivion, Fast & Furious 6, Now You See Me.  (Aside; it is possible I left some off, but only by accident.)

Number one is Catching Fire.  It improved on the first movie in every way possible, and the first one was already enjoyable.  Yeah they may enhance the love triangle a bit more than the book, and most children seeing it have no clue what’s happening, but it was still a well done movie.  It stuck in my brain for quite a few days, and I can’t wait for Mockingjay.

Television:  Holy crap television, you have been awesome in 2013.  Every year, a show gets topped by another show or tops itself.  Game of Thrones fans know all about this and will never look at weddings the same.  The Walking Dead’s latest season was incredible, making the antici…..pation, for part two, maddening.  Shameless is the best show no one seems to talk about.  Rounding it out, there is Parks & Rec, The Big Bang Theory, Sons of Anarchy, and American Horror Story, that leaves me with only one remaining.  (I know I left things off this, too many great things to watch.)

Boardwalk Empire.  It’s not a massive hit show, and some people, ahem, refuse to watch it any further.  There is almost no one to root for, yet I like everyone.  The characters are deep and well-acted, the environment appeals to all my senses, and it takes place during a time I love.  The end of this season pulled on every heart string I own, and I specifically mean the last few minutes.  Great stories have great endings.

I didn’t mention Doctor Who because I wrote about why it’s my favorite show here.  I do plan on writing something about why Disney World is my favorite place in the world and why you should visit.  Wait a second…Doctor Who, DW, Disney World, DW…that can’t be a coincidence.

If you feel like sharing, I always love discovering new things to entertain myself.  Even if there is a category I left off, add it yourself.  Leave it in the comments below.

Do Something Good

-Matt

Leave a Reply

