The 86th Academy Awards: My Winners

The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.

Every year I tell myself to watch each of the movies up for Best Picture at the Academy Awards.  Every year I fail that goal, much like I did this year.  The past few years, especially since expanding the field, I have only seen a small sampling.  This year I’ve seen five of the nine nominees, and I hope to see all of them over the next month.

Since I love movies, and I like writing them, I wanted to throw together who I think may win this Sunday.  I’m not basing them on the technical aspect of their craft, just who I want to win.  I’m also only doing a few categories.  Best picture, along with the top four acting awards.

Shall we begin?

 

Best Picture:

American Hustle: Very good movie, but not great.  The story was fun, and the 70’s vibe worked well, but it wasn’t as good as it should have been.  The acting was good, but I have seen each of them do better except maybe Amy Adams.

Captain Phillips:  Excellent, possibly my favorite of the nominees.  Tom Hanks was incredible (he was not nominated) and the edge of your seat thrill was fantastic.  Even if you know the true story, it didn’t matter.  What I did not expect, was a tiny drop of sympathy with the “villains.”

Dallas Buyers Club: I have not seen this yet, but I know people who have and they thought it was incredible.  I already know I’ll like the movie; I’ve wanted to see it for a while now.  It isn’t a movie you can just pick up and watch, so I wanted to be in the right mood.  Either way, this has serious potential at winning from what I gather.

Gravity: I just saw this last night, and it blew past my expectations.  Maybe because I assumed it was only fun to look at and not much of a story.  I don’t agree with that anymore.  It wasn’t the deepest of stories but in a small amount of time they gave us some back story, and started hitting us in the face with things gone wrong.  George Clooney was very likeable, but Sandra Bullock was great.  It helps that I love space and looking at all things astrological.

Her: Oh man did I love this movie.  The acting, the directing, screenplay; it had everything that a movie should.  To answer your question; No it is not weird at all when a man falls for an operating system.  It works, much better than it should, which is a credit to Spike Jonze and Joaquin Phoenix.

Nebraska: I have not seen this yet, but I want to sooner rather than later.  This is one of those quintessential Oscar movies that almost no one heard about, but it had incredible acting and directing.  It’s in black and white and won a few awards at the Cannes Film Festival.

Philomena: Another I have not seen, but it has two people I really enjoy; Dame Judy Dench and Steve Coogan.  I only recently looked into this movie and while it is not at the top of my list, I want to see it at some point.

12 Years a Slave: I have also not seen this one, and I’m going to watch it, I really have to be in the mood for it.  Just the thought of this movie is depressing, but I’m sure that is what will make it such a great film.  I’ve heard mostly well received things; for acting, writing, and directing.  This has serious potential to take home the golden statue.

The Wolf of Wall Street: Much like American Hustle, this was really good, but should have been better.  I liked it much more than my wife did, but it still isn’t the best picture.  It has the cast, the director, and a true life story.  The only downside was, in the first five to ten minutes you can most likely nail down everything that will happen.  Classic 80’s rise to riches type movie and much more graphic than people might think.

 

Winner: Dallas Buyers Club.  It doesn’t help that I haven’t seen all the movies, but with the hype this movie is getting, along with the buzz of Jared Leto is drag, and Matthew McConaughey stepping up his acting chops (You should be watching True Detective), this might take it.  What I love though, I could see Gravity, 12 Years a Slave, Nebraska, or Her taking the top prize.

 

I will not be going into detail of the acting categories as mostly everyone is in one of the movies above.  I will list them, and the one that is bold, italicized, and underlined is my choice.

Actor in a Leading Role:

Christian Bale – American Hustle

Bruce Dern – Nebraska

Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street

Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave

Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club

 

Actress in a Leading Role:

Amy Adams – American Hustle

Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine

Sandra Bullock – Gravity

Judi Dench – Philomena

Meryl Streep – August: Osage County

 

Actor in a Supporting Role:

Barkhad Adbi – Captain Phillips

Bradley Cooper – American Hustle

Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave

Jonah Hill – The Wolf of Wall Street

Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club

 

Actress in a Supporting Role:

Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine

Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle

Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave

Julia Roberts – August: Osage County

June Squibb – Nebraska

 

I will be paying attention to many more categories, like Best Animated Feature (Frozen should win this), Best Directing (Alfonso Cuarón for Gravity should win) and Best Original Screenplay (I think Her should take it) plus many more.  Ellen DeGeneres is hosting, so you know it will be a blast.

As always,

Do Something Good

Matt

One thought on “The 86th Academy Awards: My Winners

Leave a Reply

