The 11th Doctor

Eleven with Stars

When I began this journey of reliving the 9th, 10th, and 11th Doctor’s in anticipation for the new season of Doctor Who I didn’t realize the emotional toll it may take.

I’m not talking deep, dark depression here, but I noticed last week I was on the crankier end of my rope. I was unsettled, annoyed, and the writing felt a bit forced. When this usually happens it means I’m not in the mood to write, but that wasn’t the case last week.

I was reliving the roller coaster of the Tenth Doctor…and I’m not sure I liked it. Nine will always be my first Doctor. Ten, for all his shenanigans, will always be the Doctor that made me sad and angry. I often tell my wife, “I’m the 10th Doctor…but I want to be the 11th.”

Which is why I didn’t start with a quote this week…I wanted to place it here…

“I am and always will be the optimist. The hoper of far-flung hopes and the dreamer of improbable dreams.”

-11th Doctor

That’s who I want to be. That’s who all of us should, want to be.

I’ve been agonizing over what videos to show you; what videos could be put in a specific order to show you who the 11th Doctor is. I had 23 videos ready to go. 23 not counting the 50th Anniversary! That’s excessively too many. You might as well watch the episodes (you really should).

I’ve watched, ‘Fish Fingers & Custard.’ I relived meeting River Song in the wrong order, I watched Rory die…a lot; I watched the story of Amelia Pond. I remember when the Angels took Manhattan, and witnessed what happens when a Good Man Goes to War. Bow Tie’s, Fez’s, and Stetson’s are cool, and they always will be.

Although her time with 11 was short, I’ve watched the Impossible Girl save the Doctor’s life, and I briefly met Stormageddon, Dark Lord of All.

And, I listened when Amy read to the Doctor…

“Hello, old friend…”

With all the magnificence of Matt Smith, I cannot make a list for the 11th Doctor. All the moments were my favorite.

But…I’m still going to try. I have three videos. That’s it. No tribute, no lying, just three videos. I won’t put them in context. I’m going to share them with you, and I will say goodbye for now. Tomorrow brings us a new Doctor and we have new moments to experience with him…

…I’ve said I a lot, but that isn’t fair. We witnessed this…you and me, together, like it should be. Together or not at all. It’s called marriage.

 

 

 

 

Thank you,

Do Something Good

Matt

One thought on “The 11th Doctor

  1. Pingback: Unplanned Blog Post on a Saturday Night | I Smell Carrots

Leave a Reply

