HitRecord Weekly Writing Challenge: Week 35

This week my story is ridiculous, absurd, and weird. Go with it until the end.

Requirements:
Write a comedy story about a person who becomes non-human.

 

Here is the link if you want to explore around HitRecord and below my story for this week. Enjoy!

 

Oh, oh, yeah…

I walked back to my hotel outside Epcot after the ‘Eat to the Beat’ concert I had witnessed. It wasn’t bad, pretty fun for what I was expecting. I had ingested an Octoberfest so it helped the music flow a bit better. A wind blew behind me and tickled every strand of hair on my head.

Oh…

“What the hell was that?” I said to my wife.

I stopped and turned around, running my hand through my hair.

“What babe?”

“There was a small boy’s voice behind me, singing,” I said.

“There’s lots of boys around, come on I need to pee.”

We kept walking. I brushed off the odd moment and blamed it on the beer. It was some kid singing along with the music that permeated the air, that’s all.

Oh, oh, oh…

There it was! I flipped around, no one behind me. My head felt floaty.

“It happened again, it was some boy’s voice singing oh, oh, oh, to me. It sounds really familiar.”

“Are you drunk, there is no one around you,” she said.

She grabbed my hand and pulled me along. I must have looked like a cranky child as I stumbled along running my hands through my hair.

Oh, oh, yeah…

“It’s happening again!”

I flipped around again, flailing my arms and then flipped again making a full 360. People started looking at me.

“What the…I can’t believe you’re doing this to me,” my wife said under her breath.

“How can you not hear-“

You have so many relationships in this life…
Only one or two will last…
You go through all the pain and strife…

“-that? It’s happening, right now. A young boy is serenading me! Make it stop!”

I put my hands on my head and started shaking around to the music. I had no choice.

“Oh god, there’s more than one boy! I think they’re brothers!”

Then you turn your back and they’re gone so fast…
Oh yeah…
And they’re gone so fast, yeah…
Oh…

People started backing their children away or picking them and flat out running. My wife was getting red and was saying something to me but I couldn’t hear her over the music in my ear holes.

My body was dancing now. Weird outdated dances no one understood. I was pointing in the air and opening a fake button up shirt. I hopped around on one foot while twirling my arms like propellers. I snapped my fingers and shuffled my feet. I put my fists together and pretended to churn butter. It was the worst dancing anyone had ever seen.

So hold on to the ones who really care…
In the end they’ll be the only ones there…

The words entered my head and I began singing them to my wife. Her jaw dropped.

And when you get old and start losing your hair…
Tell me who will still care…
Can you tell me who will still care?

My wife started waving her arms for me to stop. I couldn’t. I wouldn’t. I needed to share it with everyone.

Oh, care…

It was too late. The mix of alcohol, genuine happiness, and magic of Disney World had turned me into a song.

Mmmbop, ba duba dop
Ba du bop, ba duba dop

I was Mmmbop. I was no longer a person; I was only the song now.

Security circled me and closed in. They went to tackle me and I slipped into the air, golden streams of musical notes trailed behind me.

I Mmmbopped into the air and flew away.

Leave a Reply

